It’s a life on the go.

I can’t say I’ve ever really known what was coming next. Being a student in this globalised, ever-changing and privileged environment is just that: a privilege.

At 20, I’m working towards receiving one of the best diplomas of Business and Marketing in my country. At 18 I was able to read about hundreds of school and diplomas to ultimately choose which path seemed to suit my personality, aspirations, dreams and where I thought I could serve the Lord best. At that time I did not realise that this was a right only a limited amount of people get: we are more than anything living the life millions of 20 year olds can only dream of in the world.

Thankfulness is soaring in my heart as I realise just how little I did to benefit from this: my parents, citizens of two wealthy democracies decided one day to have a third alien baby added to the family clan. Through these nation’s laws, it was decided I would be both a French and an American citizen. Just like that, on a beautiful sunny April morning, I was given a right to roam freely (or somewhat freely) in a land full of opportunity, almost free healthcare, free education, almost equal rights.

Most importantly I have the right to wake up with the sun beaming in to my window, pour steaming hot coffee into my turquoise bowl and open the Bible in my heart-language to study! But that’s not all. This weekend, our church took both days to distribute 25 000 John Epistles in surrounding villages. Say what you will about this type of mass-distribution, testimonies come stumbling back to us of lost men and women finding truth in their soggy mailboxes.

So sure, I never really know what’s coming next – but He has always taken care of me. I am learning that I don’t need to know what’s next, that He isn’t going to write me a detailed email with instructions for the next few years with the following details: which studies to pursue, who to marry (with all my lovers  – you know?), where to work, where to live, what to eat, diet or not diet? In any case, here is what He asks of me: that I would increase in Holiness (1 Thess. 4:3), be joyful, prayerful and thankful (1 Thess 5.16-18), and finally that I would know His will to share it (Col 1.9).

One Comment Add yours

  1. Thom Hickey says:

    Thanks for following The Immortal Jukebox. I hope you will enjoy the wide variety of music featured and perhaps make some discoveries. I usually post once a week and your comments are welcomed. Regards and good luck with all your projects. Thom

Leave a Reply

